TMNT (2012) New Episode Open Thread (Spoilers)

The Good, The Bad, and Casey Jones

Thus far, Casey Jones has been one of this seasons’ most pleasant surprises.  Thanks in part to his isolation from the turtles, the character has been a breath of fresh air, as he provides April–and some viewers–just what they needed: someone who wasn’t the turtles.   Of course, given his importance to the mythology, he wasn’t going to stay in the periphery forever, and it was just a matter of time before he met the guys.  That moment is now.  Also, Foot Ninja.

As always, post your thoughts, positive, negative, or meta-filled in the comments.

ETA: My thoughts below the cut.

A first (sorta) for the show: a straight-up adaptation of an existing story.  If nothing else, it’s nice to know that this show is consistently able to surprise.  Like most versions of the story, it doesn’t really rise up above “eh”, in large part because, as the various previous versions have shown, there’s simply not a whole lot of story here to tell, and so considerable sections of the episode are spent killing time.  The scene at the school, for example, could have been omitted without affecting the plot, as could have the Not! Voltron scene, which felt especially gratuitous here (although that’s been the case for a while, really).  What’s more, I’m not sure this is the kind of story that can be told at this point in the story, and the episode’s execution  would seem to bear that out, as the beats feel more contrived than they do in other versions.  Still, its an okay episode, in large part because Casey Jones continues to be very likeable.  Here’s hoping that lasts.

Random Thoughts:

  • Irma!  I’m not sure what to make of her just yet, but she’s, at the very least, not offensive.  Could stand to see more of her.
  • While the series tends to be good at doing the most out of their limited artistic assets–the initial Casey scene works, even thought the reason it’s staged that way is because to save them from having to render his room–it means that, occasionally, we’re left with sub-optimal set-ups.  The Foot Robots should not be used as random-mook-of-the week.  What’s more, their presence here raises the question: why haven’t they done this before?
  • Okay, I suppose it’s not entirely out of the realm of possibilities that Donatello could have not recognized Casey as the dude he’d seen being friendly with April, but seeing him not have any sort of reaction at all seems sloppy.  Pleasant, but sloppy.
  • Casey has a sister?  Did we know that already?  Still, it’s interesting.  No mention of a mother, though ( -_-).
  • Oh, turtles.  I won’t say you don’t act like brothers, but I will say that I had siblings that act like they do, I’d be angling to move out as soon as possible.
8 Responses to TMNT (2012) New Episode Open Thread (Spoilers)

  1. DarthEmpress says:

    Loved how this was the first episode April was in where we weren’t beaten over the head with DONNIE LOVES APRIL. Irma had really cute interactions with her and Casey. Also, I really loved how Casey and Raph interacted with each other.

  2. Olivia says:

    I don’t know why I keep subjecting myself to this show. It took me an hour to watch the episode, I was that bored.

    How is the turtles’ existence still not all over the news? Casey, an average kid, easily spotted a skilled ninja on the roof and tracked him down all the way back to the Lair, without him ever noticing that he was being stalked. Not to mention that, earlier in the episode, the two took the fight from a dark alley, to the middle of the road. I know it’s not the first time the show does this, but for some reason it bothered me a lot more, this time. I’m fed up with the writers constantly forgetting that the turtles are supposed to stay out of plain sight.

    Raph ranting to himself was pretty funny though.

  3. Olivia says:

    So, it’s been pointed out that the scene on the roof also happens in the first film. And at sunset, not nighttime.

    And yet…somehow it didn’t feel quite so careless.

  4. Ian says:

    The publicness of Casey and Raph’s fight bothered me too, Olivia. Even as the show gets better at populating the streets of New York, it’s had the effect of making the stealth fail even more stark, and arbitrary-feeling. After all, it was just last episode that we had Leo being unable to retrieve a canister of ooze because people kept getting in the way; where are those people now?

    I think the reason why the film scene works better than this does owes a lot to the fact that the film wasn’t really trying to sell us on the idea of the turtles’ effectiveness at being hidden; at the point in the story where Casey happens to find Raphael, the turtles’ lair had already been discovered by the Foot, and their new hiding place is either minutes from discovery if not already discovered. The turtles are sloppy, and they repeatedly pay for it.

    On this cartoon, however, not only are we supposed to buy their effectiveness, we’re to believe that they’re so good at remaining hidden that The Shredder–who is meant to be a competent villain–has to resort to firebombing the entire sewer system in order to kill them. Not only does the concept of them being hard to find stretch disbelief–they rarely leave that one neighborhood, after all–but also makes the numerous moments of stealth fail, and the lack of any real consequences, feel like cheating. My problem is not not necessarily that the show isn’t unaware about their inability to be good at stealth–after all, we’ve seen that Karai can find them with considerable consistency–it’s that the show is unwilling to take that detail to its natural conclusion.

  5. Isaac says:

    Still haven’t watched the episode. It’s sitting there on my DVR mocking me.

    I’ll get around to it eventually, especially since it sounds like this episode was decent, but its such a shame to think that a show I used to look forward to I now avoid watching entirely.

  6. Pterobat says:

    Well, this episode was pretty entertaining.

    The faults of the show are still there, but at least they put out an enjoyable single-part product. I still think Nicktoons Casey is a real fun character. Between him and Karai, it seems like the newer cast members are just more arresting than the early mains. It seems like they’ve got more heart put into them.

    Which is why I have a tiny bit of hope for Nicktoons Irma. I really dislike the original Irma, who wasn’t a funny character but just an ugly stereotype of the “awkward” woman–you could do just about anything else with her and it would be an improvement.

    But either way, praise Jeebus, they’re actually making steps to show April has a life outside of the Turtles. Keep going with that.

    Casey’s mask and facepaint are ginchy.

    I wasn’t bothered by the interaction between Raph and Leo, because this is by-the-numbers for the TMNT franchise already. It worked here, but the beats are familiar: Raph gets out of control and so forth, targeting Leo. Good enough.

    So, the series won’t move my earth as it seems to do for everyone else, but if a spate of episodes of this quality, being at least enjoyable enough for me to forget all I dislike about the show then…that’d be good.

  7. Garfield says:

    I enjoyed this episode. It has some flaws, I like this version of Casey, but this time I’m just going to speak about how I love some of the design choices. This new design of Casey works with me because though it looks like a lot put together but every aspect is used for something from all of the padding to the weapons to even the mask face paint and hoody to concealing his Identity and even the skates which I felt were a questionable design choice at first, but grew to appreciate. He’s like a knight with a heavy urban influence.

    I also really took notice of the background design in the scene where Raph and Casey were chasing down the Foot Soldier in the Subway. I loved the gritty setting, I think the familiarity caught my eye because I had recently watched the movie “The Warriors” and the dingy Subway with its billboards and tunnels and oddly dressed characters running around was a familiar scene.

  8. Ian says:

    Garfield: I enjoyed this episode. It has some flaws, I like this version of Casey, but this time I’m just going to speak about how I love some of the design choices. This new design of Casey works with me because though it looks like a lot put together but every aspect is used for something from all of the padding to the weapons to even the mask face paint and hoody to concealing his Identity and even the skates which I felt were a questionable design choice at first, but grew to appreciate. He’s like a knight with a heavy urban influence.

    I also really took notice of the background design in the scene where Raph and Casey were chasing down the Foot Soldier in the Subway. I loved the gritty setting, I think the familiarity caught my eye because I had recently watched the movie “The Warriors” and the dingy Subway with its billboards and tunnels and oddly dressed characters running around was a familiar scene.

    Heck yes. As much as I dislike the show’s decision to detail their assets to the point of cutting themselves off at their knees, when they do go all out, things generally looks fab. Casey, in particular, looks fantastic, and I really liked the subway set–the “Users are losers” poster in the background just sells it.

    Pterobat: Which is why I have a tiny bit of hope for Nicktoons Irma. I really dislike the original Irma, who wasn’t a funny character but just an ugly stereotype of the “awkward” woman–you could do just about anything else with her and it would be an improvement.

    Yeah, same here. Like I mentioned in a previous post, Irma as originally conceived is problematic enough without being subjected to the show’s brand of wrong, so creating essentially a brand new character and giving her an old name, despite how much I dislike that, was probably the best thing they could have done. There’s still plenty of space to fail, but there’s actual potential for success, too.

