Open Thread: 2014

New Years Eve

So the year is done.  And a damn good year its been, too–both in terms of this site and life in general.  As relates to the former, the site has seen an influx of new activity–a lot of it, admittedly, based on the most recent cartoon series and its many shortcomings–which has brought in some new regular commenters I’ve become quite fond of.  What’s more, progress has been made, to some degree on new fan fiction–some of which I hope will actually be completed before 2014 is over.  In fact, if I have a new year’s resolution it is just that: to be able to focus on fan fiction and actually finish it, for once.

Also, to respond to comments more quickly.

In any case, some highlights of the year:

How about y’all?

The rules: This is an open thread, which means that you can write about whatever you’d like in the comments, as long as it remains within the bounds set by the comment policy.  Discussions taking place in previous Open Threads–which will be closed after this one goes online–can also be continued here.

5 Responses to Open Thread: 2014

  1. Isaac says:

    This year I started a blog! And thanks to your reviews of the current TMNT show started coming here on a fairly regular basis. I’m pleased with my blog at the moment, and I’m genuinely enjoying your stuff here.

    My personal life has been…strange this year. I’m taking some time off school and finding the real world vaguely terrifying (okay, I exaggerate). Without going to far into my life, I can definitely say that my 2013 was nothing like I expected it to be.

    If I have a resolution for the new year it’s fairly straightforward: get a job!

  2. Ian says:

    I’m going to assume it wasn’t actually midnight where you’re at when you sent this message. It was over here, and if that was the case for you too then, well, I’m honored to learn that posting here was one of the things you did with your year.

    Guys, go visit Isaac’s Young Heroes blog. There’s a link on my blogroll.

    Good luck with getting a job!

  3. Ian says:

    I have to say I really like the beginnings of Casey and April’s relationship in the Nick series. Their interactions remind me of Judith and Elias in the first movie ❤ I didn't really ship April and Casey in the 2k3 series just because I found the portrayal of their relationship a bit…boring, I guess. I loved that they were together, but nothing about their interactions made me excited to see them on screen together. Maybe it had to do with their voice acting, which I wasn't a fan of.

    I totally agree with the Nick series take on Casey and April; while I don’t necessarily trust the creators to do well with the follow-through, what we’ve gotten so far has been rather great, so far.

    As for their 2003 take…yeah, I can see that. Personally, that’s part of their appeal to me–that their relationship, once they got together, was low-key to the point of being boring at times. While I can see why that might not be the sort of thing to arouse fan enthusiasm, I liked that it was something that progressed without drama.

    @Pterobat: I still assume that the 4Kids version of the Justice Force was meant to give the impression that Bernice didn’t like Dome at first. I suppose the Mirage comics are colouring my interpretation, but at the same time, if this wasn’t the case, it removes a lot of the shock surrounding Ananda’s existence.

    You’re right that the episode does in fact aim to give the impression that Bernice did not like Dome: Steve Steel claims as much, at a point in the episode by which no reason to doubt him has been presented. However, given that the episode, unlike the comic, is in large part about misdirection and mistaken impressions–Steve Steel and Doc Dome are wrong about each other’s intentions; Steve Steel is partly wrong when he explains why Bernice left the team for a year; Doc Dome is wrong about Ananda being Bernice–I’m not sure how much can be taken at face value once the episode ends. In any case, I’ll have more to say once I get to that episode

    Greg Weisman has pointed out that Broadway stopped calling her “Angie” before the others did in “Turf”, and if we think of the kiss in “The Journey” as when the pairing was made official, “Possession” also lent some substance to Angela/Broadway, though of course it wasn’t intend to *start* Angela/Broadway. Broadway giving her chocolates is stretching it, but even so…

    These things aren’t that blatant by TV romance standards, but there’s just no equivalent subtext from Lexington and Brooklyn. Yes, those pairings would still be possible, but Broadway already had a “lead”.

    Ah, thank you. I’ll have to watch out for these things.

    Oberon and Titania won’t have an “Eye of the Beholder” moment because they’re already a long-term couple, while Fox and Xanatos were just getting together at the time.

    True; I misspoke. I meant to say that I don’t believe they ever had one in the past, not that they wouldn’t have one in the future.

    While Titania intended to repay the gargoyles in “Ill Met By Moonlight”, she admitted in “The Gathering” that no one could hold her interest more than Oberon. It suggests to me that Titania would have gotten back with Oberon even if she had never met Goliath. My interpretation is more like…the Children have more flexible ideas of what love and marriage can be used for than the western human viewers. Titania wanted to get back with Oberon anyway, but saw no problem with also using that desire to also get something for the gargoyles in return.

    I fear I have not been clear: yeah, I agree that they would have very likely gotten back together even if Goliath had been a factor, if they hadn’t already. However, I don’t think the same is true when it comes specifically to their marriage, which is something that while related, is also a whole other kettle of fish, especially since marriage among rulers has historically been political, and had specific implications. Could it be that the Oberati don’t see it that way, and that the cultural significance of the act has no similarities to the way we see it? Perhaps. Still, I’m sticking with my headcanon. : )

  4. Isaac says:

    I’m going to assume it wasn’t actually midnight where you’re at when you sent this message. It was over here, and if that was the case for you too then, well, I’m honored to learn that posting here was one of the things you did with your year.

    Guys, go visit Isaac’s Young Heroes blog. There’s a link on my blogroll.

    Good luck with getting a job!

    I think it was nineish? Anyway, thanks for the well wishes and thanks for the shout out.

    As for their ([Casey and April’s]) 2003 take…yeah, I can see that. Personally, that’s part of their appeal to me–that their relationship, once they got together, was low-key to the point of being boring at times. While I can see why that might not be the sort of thing to arouse fan enthusiasm, I liked that it was something that progressed without drama.

    If I may jump in.

    Something that occurred to me on this point is that part of the problem with Casey and April’s 2003 relationship might be the fact that we never see them doing much of anything other than being in a relationship. We never really see April’s feelings about Casey’s vigilante activities (aside from maybe, at a stretch, one moment in City at War) or see Casey trying to get April interested in hockey. A little more often do we see Casey taking interest in April’s Techno stuff but only because he’s often sitting there with her while she’s helping out the guys, looking bored as all hell.

    I think we might have gotten a little more invested in that relationship if they had taken interested in each other’s lives outside of their friendship with the turtles from time to time. Then again, that would have required that the writers give Casey and April lives outside of their friendship with the turtles, and throughout the series that almost never happens. Do you realize that the vast majority of the guests at their wedding were people that they’d met through the turtles? It’s because they have no other friends, and only a couple family members.

  5. Ian says:

    Isaac: Do you realize that the vast majority of the guests at their wedding were people that they’d met through the turtles? It’s because they have no other friends, and only a couple family members.

    Yup, and that’s one of the reasons why I can’t like that episode as much as I’d like. On one hand, it’s inevitable: it’s the turtles’ show, it’s the last episode, and an episode where half the invite list is made out of muggles and the other half is turtles-related people would feel incredibly off without explanation. On the other hand, there’s a lot of people which really shouldn’t be there, and several who aren’t but should have been; some mention of April’s parents would have been much appreciated, as would have time spent on introducing them to the turtles’ and April’s world.

    That said, I have no problem with the idea of Casey or April actually being unable to develop or maintain close friendships outside of the turtles as text; I like the idea that there’s actually a cost to getting to know the turtles and becoming involved in their lives. I also imagine that April, in particular, would have trouble connecting with her pre-series social circle after everything that happened in season 1. And while it’d have been rather nice to see the series actually deal with this, I’m also kinda glad they didn’t, since I have little confidence that it would have been done justice, and what they did do was, I feel, enough to suggest that there was a life outside the turtles, even if it wasn’t focused on–stuff like April’s familiarity with riding bikes with Casey in “Space Invaders”, or the Halloween party on “All Hallow’s Thieves”.

    I can understand why people don’t find them appealing. To me, though, they’re another example of one of my favorite things about the series–the impression it gives off that what we see is just the tip of the iceberg. I have lots of thoughts and story ideas about Casey and April’s relationship, and a lot center precisely on the friends they’ve become estranged from, and their inability to form “normal” social relationships.

Leave a Reply

