So initially I was going finish up a post I’d started about a month ago comparing Gargoyles‘ Avalon world tour to Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Fast Forward. Unfortunately, it’s now almost 9:00, and I’ve realized that I have no idea what it is I want to say.  My second choice, an Earth Protection Force profile on Gargoyles to mirror my previous Illuminati profiles, has not been begun today.  So no substantive post today, which means: video plugging:

(Created by lilcoffeebandit)

Now, I’m not a terribly big fan of the original TMNT series–I only own season 1, and haven’t seen the rest of the series since it stopped airing regularly on television–but I really can’t help but love the foursome of Shredder, Krang, Bebop and Rocksteady–and this video, I think, helps explain why: they make me smile.  More than anything else, I feel their appearance–and their spot-on portrayal–is what makes Turtles Forever so great.

I mean, look at that pose on the Shredder.  It’s the same expression I get when I’m turned down for a date, realize I have not been accepted for Teach For America again, or realize I have to walk for an hour to get home.   And of course, Krang is right besides him, ready to berate, insult, and then comfort his husband.  It all feels very human, in a way that the 2k3 Shredder, for all his awesomeness, can’t.

Leave a Reply

