Tokyo Vice

So I got the book for Christmas. It’s already finished, therefore passing the “it’s a page-turner” test. It’s given me much food for thought on several matters, including my J.E.T. Program application, my carreer path thus far, and–just to bring this post more in tone with the blog (not that my nonexistent readership would care)–how I plan to portray the Japanese Foot Clan in my stories. For one, it’s lowered my opinion of Karai considerably.

But anyways…

All in all, it’s a good read. It starts out funny and light, with plenty of “oh, Japan, you’re so weird” moments, before heading into “Really, Japan? Really?” territory, and finally into “you suck in so many different ways, Japan”. Granted, the account is anything but umbiased, but it confirms a lot of misgivings about the country–not enough to stop me from going there, but enough for my desire to improve things to kick in. Unfortunately, I am in no way equipped to effect large-scale change, or even small-scale change. However, I’m now interested in checking out Polaris Project Japan, to see if I can help out in some way while I’m there–maybe they need Spanish speakers. If I’m chosen, of course.

For those who have no idea what I’m talking about, Tokyo Vice is the autobiographical account of author Jake Adelstein’s tenure as the only American reporter to work for the Yomiuri Shinbun, Japan’s largest newspaper, and whose work often took him to Japan’s underworld. The Daily Show has an interview with Adelstein here.

Leave a Reply

